Home > Hawker Fare, Singapore > CCK BBQ Chicken Wings

CCK BBQ Chicken Wings

This is a short and sweet post. Or so I intended for it to be.

Most people are bound to have their favourite comfort food. You know, the food that is always within reach, so you can go eat it in your slackest out-of-bed attire. And somehow, on any given day, it just tastes like the most amazing food, rain or shine, humid or very humid. For me, it’s the bbq chicken wings at this zichar place just round the corner where I live. I don’t quite remember how I chanced upon this place, because it is a little out of the way, but I suppose I probably have all the food within 2km radius of my home under my radar! Leave no food un-eaten! The zichar place is a little quirky, and because I’ve patronized them for such a long time, I kinda know all of the people working there. There is a forgetful uncle who takes drinks orders, who has forgotten to collect money from me before (don’t take advantage!), an Indian uncle who pengs the chicken wings and is very fluent in Mandarin, the black dog that is always around, and the ah lian auntie who is erm, never at the stall but comes scurrying when you need to order.

Their chilli is super good, and their wings are finger licking good. You gotta try them if you come by Choa Chu Kang! It’s along the row of shophouses behind Keat Hong Shopping Centre, opposite the defunct Keat Hong Camp. They sell out usually about 10-ish at night, so do come early. They used to cost $1.00 each, in the days of yore, but now they cost $1.30 each. I know right, inflation affects even chicken wings! I’ve seen the price rise with the years and I still love their wings. It’s just very sedap!

Choa Chu Kang Chicken Wings, Singapore

216 Coffee Shop (Hong Kiat Seafood Restaurant)
Blk 216 Choa Chu Kang Ave 1 Singapore 689477
Opening Hours: Dinner Time
Closed on Mondays.

  1. January 22, 2012 at 1:40 am

    Comparing this stall chicken wings to Ikea and Old Chang Kee – rank the three!

    • January 22, 2012 at 10:35 pm

      hey! I definitely like CCK’s wings, then Ikea and then OCK! The CCK wings are like bbq-ed over charcoal.. there’s a certain unique flavour in that! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

