Home > Hawker Fare > No. 1 Western Food

No. 1 Western Food

Everyone loves a gd ‘ol hawker style Western food with oily fries and a slick sunny side up. If you’re with me, then you know what I am talking about. Yeah, it’s the Western food that your parents buy home some times, and it comes in a plastic sheet lined paper box, secured with a rubber band. And it always comes with a fried bun and sometimes, coleslaw. So far, the best Western food I’ve had is at this super ulu hawker centre at Tanglin Halt. I have been patronising this stall since I was a kid, when my parents took us there. According to my mom, she’s been eating the Western food there since she was a teenager, so I suppose this stall goes way back. If you go there, you can tell that this stall has probably been around for a while now, even though it just underwent a major renovation and looks spanking new; the old couple who run the stall are probably around 65? The grey hair uncle is always in his uber comfy white cotton t-shirt, the kind that everyone’s dad probably has, with a few moth eaten holes and a loose collar. The auntie, on the other hand, looks very gd for her age (maybe she is much younger than the uncle) and she is nice, always allowing us to take extra sauce without a surcharge. I still frequent this stall when I have a Western food craving, because seriously, the sauce that they make there, is to die for. I am cheap, so this is cheap and good for me. Hah.

Chicken Chop @ Tanglin Halt

This is the chicken chop that I always eat. Their homemade sauce is really very yummy. I normally add an egg to the dish, and this costs $5? Couple it with a teh-o ping from the drinks stall (warning, the Chinese drinks stall just beside the Western stall is only good for canned drinks.. would recommend ordering self-made drinks from any other drinks stall there), and it is a satisfying meal to the max. Just don’t make the same mistake as me, by going there on Tuesdays, because they are closed on Tuesdays. And they normally start business at about 6pm onwards for dinner. They’ve got awesome pork chop and chicken cutlet too! Highly recommended!

No. 1 Western Food (驰名西餐) 
Blk 1A Commonwealth Dr #01-13 Singapore 141001 
Tanglin Halt Hawker Centre 
Sun: 1pm-9pm 
Sat-Fri: 3pm-9pm 
Closed on Tuesdays

  1. quek
    November 6, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Loose collar reminds me of that guy we saw at the Gek Poh Macs! LMAO!

    • November 6, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      that was like the white fungus kinda collar lor. Epic. LOL

  2. November 7, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    this stall is awesome! I’ve been eating this for years too. I usually eat the steak though.

  3. thk
    June 24, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    Thank you for your recommendation. I always ate at this Toa Payoh Lor 8 Western food stall, which had a secret sauce. Turned out that the owners are relatives! Was a good nostalgic meal for me and my family!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

